5 quick facts about the Commonwealth Games

Aerial view of Durban, Photo: Corbis images

1. The Commonwealth Games were first held in 1930 and usually takes place every four years.

2. The multi-sport event is attended by athletes from the Commonwealth of Nations, an organisation of around 53 states that were former British Empire territories.

3. Nigeria was the first country to boycott the Commonwealth Games in 1978 in protest over New Zealand’s sporting contacts with South Africa.

4. The 2002 Commonwealth Games made history as the first fully inclusive games after athletes with disabilities were included as full members of national teams.

5. Only six countries have attended every Commonwealth Games: Australia, Canada, England, New Zealand, Scotland, and Wales.


find your
dream home

looking for an

List your Property

It's easy in only three
simple steps...

find professional
services in
your area

Locate a business
operating in
your area

List your Business

Want more customers? They're online right now, searching for businesses like yours. Place your ad now...

Latest News


benonicitytimesboksburgadvertiserbrakpanheraldspringsadvertisergetit Autodealer.co.za
Recommended Story x
Equipment to help local athletes

Thanx for your referral. We have no doubt your friends will love our newsletter as much as you!

Don't forget to verify your email.

to our free NEWSLETTER
SUBSCRIBE to our FREE newsletter.

SELECT your titles:

African Reporter
Benoni City Times
Boksburg Advertiser
Brakpan Herald
Germiston City News
Springs Advertiser

Your details:

Your friends:

I didn't sign up for this
I'd like to see and read more... (Please indicate in comments section below)
I'm relocating (Please indicate where to)